Articles

Visiit to Alvor 30th March 2017

In Albufeira on April 1, 2017 by cubsur51

I had cause to be in Alvor on Thursday. With time to spare before my bus home, I took the chance to take some pictures on a nice sunny afternoon.

I didn’t really know that Alvor had a castle! I have been there a number of times and perhaps I should have noticed ‘Largo do Castelo (Castle Square) on one of my previous visits. It’s only a little castle, there are only a few vestigial remains. It’s thought that a castle had been there aince 800BC. The remains date from the 13th and 14th centuries. There’s an informative Wikipedia article at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Castle_of_Alvor
The castle was abandoned as long ago as the 17th century and was largely destroyed in the 1755 earthquake.
The town was busy with the tourist restaurants and bars either open or getting themselves ready for the summer season. The fishermen were busy mending nets.

I walked out along the boardwalk out to the beach. It’s a long walk, almost 1.5km.

Click below to view the picture album.

Leave a Reply

