Articles

Strange bug spotted

In Albufeira, Animals on February 14, 2017 by cubsur51 Tagged: ,

I am told it is a mole cricket, that mostly lives underground. Which is why I have never seen one!

Does anyone know what this is please? Spotted this morning while I was walking down a track just back of where I live in Albufeira. I have never seen anything looking like this. I woudl say it was about 5cm (2″) long. It was moving slowly but fairly steadily, pausing to rummage around in the gravel. A few seconds later is vanished into some long grass.

dsc03081

Bug 1

dsc03083

Bug 2

2 Responses to “Strange bug spotted”

  1. Cubsur, it’s definitely a mole cricket!
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mole_cricket

Leave a Reply

