Articles

Not a good week!

In Uncategorized on April 24, 2015 by cubsur51 Tagged:

Last Friday I had my annual anti hay fever injection, having been suffering since my return from England a few days previously.

That always makes me feel less than wonderful for a day or two. But despite that, plus pills and potions, I have still been sneezing my way through the days.

On Tuesday I dropped a glass pan lid on the floor, fragments everywhere. It was tempered glass but those little cubes can get in your feet. Took ages to clean up.

Then I was really wrapped up in a job to proof read a large document for my UK based football colleagues.

Yesterday was the first sunny day for a while, so I decided to walk the 45 minutes or so through the back lanes to our local cinema. I didn’t take my camera. I should have done, as the recent damp weather has brought out all the wildflowers and weeds as well as the pollen. There are some really good colours, so perhaps I shall do that over the weekend, but rain is forecast!

The film I saw was Liam Neeson’s latest, Run All Night. It’s not too bad a film overall. But how does he manage to spend most of it getting into fights, leaping out of burning buildings, crashing cars etc etc and still manage to have his rather old fashioned revolver in his jacket pocket with a large supply of ammunition?

I forgot to mention the rats! We have rats in our building. They are in the ventilation shaft that runs the height of the small building. My neighbours and I can hear them scratching away at night when it’s quiet. In the last three weeks, we have twice reported this to the building managers who said they would get the local council’s pest controllers but so far nothing has happened.

Our building is cut into the side of a small hill and under the concrete platform is a void. Somehow the creatures have found their way, we suspect from the drains, into that void and are using it as a vertical escape tunnel. But it’s blocked at the top except for ducts connected to gas boilers etc, so they must be trying to find another way out.

Rats have very sharp teeth. I have read that they can eat their way though concrete. Let’s hope a way is found to stop their wanderings before that happens.

Leave a Reply

